Oh, the Places You’ll Go!

I don’t know about you, but something I just get this itch…(don’t be dirty) I mean that itch to explore.

To create.

To connect.

To see.

To have a moment.

An experience.

And sometimes, to capture it all, with my camera. I got one of those itches on Friday. For me, these internal proddings are often similar to that pesky mosquito bite itch. I. Just. Must. SCRATCH. IT!!! So, I left work, and since it was a B-E-A-UTIFUL day, I said to myself,”Self, let’s go for a walk.” So I drove myself and my camera to Historic Downtown McKinney. I have been to this spot before, several times in fact to scratch my quilting itch that strikes, because there is this cute quilting shop there. But this was the first time I went exploring there.

So, not for the first time in my life, I followed Dr. Seuss’ wise words:

You have brains in your head. You have feet on your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the guy who’ll decide where to go. You’ll look up and down streets. Look ’em over with care. About some you will say, ‘I don’t choose to go there’.”

DSC_3609-2

So I looked up and down streets. And I walked. And I looked some more. For about an hour or so I just walked and clicked away …

DSC_3634

DSC_3646-B&W2

… and just enjoyed some alone time.

DSC_3649

DSC_3659

It is such an interesting thing for my very extroverted self to find such energy in solitude. It’s unexpected and it’s wonderful. Later, on the rainy Saturday that followed, I realized that those moments- those seeking, little self-care moments- help to fuel the larger life journey. Taking the moment to stop and enjoy; that can truly feed your soul… even when all you think your doing is scratching a little itch.

DSC_3694

“The world is indeed full of peril and in it there are many dark places.
But still there is much that is fair. And though in all lands, love is now
mingled with grief, it still grows, perhaps, the greater.” 
― J.R.R. TolkienThe Lord of the Rings

“Out there things can happen, and frequently do,
To people as brainy and footsy as you.
And when things start to happen, don’t worry, don’t stew.
Just go right along, you’ll start happening too!”
― Dr. SeussOh, the Places You’ll Go!

2 thoughts on “Oh, the Places You’ll Go!

Leave a Reply

