Basic Needs

I find myself thinking more and more about my Human Growth and Development class in grad school just a few short years ago. I am constantly, desperately try to remember all the important milestones and benchmarks and environmental factors that help a little person grow into a well-adjusted adult. While my current sleep-deprived self struggles to remember it all, I am able to recall a few important things, like tummy time

DSC_6388

Tummy time is important for Little Man’s muscle development. And even though he may hate it from time to time, it helps him reach those important milestones that will lead to the pitter-patter of little feet soon… all too soon.

DSC_6378 copy

Because time does move so quickly, our little family has to intentionally wrap ourselves in quality time, soaking up each and every moment. QT is also SUPER is important for healthy attachment. I could go into some boring citations here, but I’ll spare the tech-talk and just say babies who are securely attached to their parents develop healthy autonomy later in life.

DSC_6392

And I want that for my Little Man. I want him to be secure in us as parents. Not so we “successfully” form his world to what we see fit, but rather so he knows it’s safe to create his own world and explore his own self, all the while knowing we are there to support and love him every step along the way.

Which reminds me of something else that is important…LOVE

"...the soul of Jonathan was bound to the soul of David, and Jonathan loved him as his own soul." -1 Samuel 18:1b

“…the soul of Jonathan was bound to the soul of David, and Jonathan loved him as his own soul.” -1 Samuel 18:1 b

This one is my favorite… on so many levels. Because after all, “the greatest of these is love.”

10 thoughts on “Basic Needs

Leave a Reply

